主要内容顶部
邁阿密市

美国观点:聚焦基本因素

投资洞见
联储局
通胀
美国
标普500指数

美国观点:聚焦基本因素

2023年3月2日

  • 今年首两个月,美股的回报相当不同。1月,标普指数受非必需消费品、通讯服务和房地产带动,升超过5.5%。一些去年受创的行业在新一年开始回勇。
  • 2月,市场举步维艰,经济似乎较预期强劲,且通胀未有如期望般迅速放缓。两项因素均可能使联储局的加息时间超出预期。在这些因素未明朗化前,难以过份乐观。
  • 新公布的通胀数据为市场带来坏消息,1月的个人消费开支物价指数促使市场提高联储局未来的加息预期。截至2月27日,市场普遍预期联储局将再加息三次至5.5%,直至6月会议。市场也预期,联储局在年底前将两度降低联邦基金利率。
  • 根据我们的分析,参考联储局过去六个紧缩周期,一旦联邦公开市场委员会暂停(或停止)加息,其后的十二个月,美股平均可为投资者带来19%的总回报。这将超出过去十年,标普500指数的平均全年回报13.7%。
  • 第一季的经济增长似乎稳健。根据亚特兰大联储的最新数据,估计第一季GDP可能介乎2.5%至3%。然而,经济有疲弱迹象。我们预期在2023年的大部分时间,经济增长将放缓至低于1%,这应会令规模降低。
  • 随着通胀继续减慢,企业将难以把物价升幅转嫁至最终消费者。因此,我们应该预期今年大部分时间,利润将继续受挤压。
  • 经济增长放缓,加上利润收紧,导致分析师下调标普500指数今年的盈利评级。
  • 短期内,我们继续预期美股将进一步整固,这反映了2023年的盈利预期下调。然而,美股投资者应对美股市场的长远回报前景保持乐观。尤其是在2024年,盈利增长可望好转。

本网站所载资料提述在部分地区并无提供的服务或产品,或在任何相关地区,其组成部分、方法、结构和条款,以及客户资格限制有别于其所述者的服务或产品。请联络客户经理,查询可能向阁下提供的服务和产品详情。

 

所使用的“汇丰环球私人银行”标签、“我们”或“本行”是指汇丰环球私人银行业务,并不代表任何法律实体或关系。

 

本资料与相关汇丰分行提供的特定服务(如有)的条款及条件构成完整文件。

 

本网站所载的任何内容不得被视为买卖任何一般或特定产品、服务或证券的要约、招揽、背书或建议,也不应被视为构成投资意见。

 

请注意,汇丰环球私人银行并不提供法律和税务意见。

 

在继续浏览前,请参阅免责声明和条款及条件全文。

聆听您对服务的宝贵意见,对我们意义重大。随时随地分享您的想法,了解各项信息及与我们对话。

Top of main content
Miami city

US Perspectives: Getting fundamentals aligned

Investments Insights
Inflation
S&P500
Fed
US

US Perspectives: Getting fundamentals aligned

Mar 2, 2023

  • US equity returns have been quite different in the first two months this year. In January, the S&P rose more than 5.5 per cent led by consumer discretionary, communication services, and real estate. Some of the sectors that had suffered in 2022 rallied to start the new year
  • In February, markets have struggled as we have seen that the economy looks stronger than ex-pected, and inflation is not slowing at the pace as hoped. Both of these factors could keep the Fed to raising rates longer than forecasted earlier. It is hard to be overly optimistic until these factors are resolved
  • The latest inflation data created problems in markets, as the January PCE inflation data caused them to raise expectations for future Fed rate hikes. As of 27 February, market consensus expects the Fed to tighten three more times to 5.5 per cent through the June meeting. Consensus then has the Fed will lower the Fed funds rate twice before year-end
  • Based on our analysis, in the six prior Fed tightening cycles, once the FOMC pauses - or stops rais-ing rates - on average, in the ensuing twelve months, US equities have provided investors with a to-tal return of 19 per cent. That would exceed the 13.7 per cent average annual returns we have seen in the S&P 500 in the last decade
  • Economic growth looks healthy throughout the first quarter. Through its latest reading, the Atlanta Fed estimates that first quarter GDP could be in the 2.5 to 3.0 per cent range. However, there are signs of weakness in the economy. We anticipate the economic growth will slow to below 1 per cent throughout most of 2023, which should result in lower volumes
  • As inflation continues to slow, corporations will struggle to pass on higher prices to the end consum-er. As a result, we should expect margin compression to continue for most of this year
  • The combination of slower economic growth and tighter margins has led financial analysts to down-grade earnings for the S&P 500 this year
  • In the short term, we continue to expect further consolidation for US equities to reflect the down-grade in earnings expectations in 2023. However, we remain optimistic about the prospects of re-turns in the US equity markets in the long term. This is especially true given the potential for better earnings growth in 2024

The information on this site refers to services or products which are not available in certain locations, or which, in any relevant location, may have components, methods, structures and terms different from the ones described, as well as restrictions on client eligibility. Please contact a Relationship Manager for details of services and products that may be available to you.

The use of the label ‘HSBC Private Banking’, ‘HSBC Private Bank’, ‘we’, or ‘us’ refers to HSBC’s worldwide private banking business, and is not indicative of any legal entity or relationship.

This information is entirely qualified by reference to the terms and conditions of the specific service, if any, provided by the relevant HSBC company.

Nothing here is to be deemed an offer, solicitation, endorsement, or recommendation to buy or sell any general or specific product, service or security and should not be considered to constitute investment advice.

Please note that HSBC Private Banking does not provide Legal and Tax Advice.

Before proceeding, please refer to the full Disclaimer and the Terms and Conditions.
Listening to what you have to say about services matters to us. It's easy to share your ideas, stay informed and join the conversation.