主要內容頂部

家族企業:從餐桌到會議桌

18/10/2021
家族企業
傳承規劃
家族管治
財富規劃
財富保障

環球疫情之下,不少剛剛開展傳承規劃的亞洲家族面臨平衡家族權益與企業利益的挑戰。在此情況下,他們應何去何從﹖不少家族選擇重新檢視傳承規劃藍圖,並考慮以專業方式管理盤根錯節的家族業務、家族關係及家族財富傳承事宜。

發布者 滙豐環球私人銀行

家族企業皆獨一無二,並往往因其一脈相承的價值觀、歷史和凝聚力而固若金湯。然而,若將該情感元素融入企業經營,亦可能帶來難以預測的後果。因此,將家族和企業經營混為一談可形成一股獨有的內部壓力,處理不當或會削弱企業的長遠財務回報,但若處理得宜,家族和企業經營相結合亦可帶來豐碩成果。

家族企業若想實現薪火相傳,一個公私分明的機制不可或缺

滙豐環球私人銀行私人財富策劃家族管治諮詢董事劉基群表示:「這也是家族企業日常營運以至企業世代相傳的致勝良方。」

彌合代際鴻溝

亞洲「財富大轉移」之趨勢下,區內多個顯赫家族的年長一輩創始人開始實踐代際傳承規劃1,而於此關鍵時期,代際關係尤為重要。若處理不善,不同世代的家族成員在經營理念和方針上的分歧,或會引起矛盾,甚至導致溝通破裂。

家族企業的創始人白手興家,對自己成功打造的商業王國有著深厚情意結,並習慣把工作融入生活,在餐桌上決定大小事務,經營公司親力親為。然而,隨著家族企業的規模日益壯大,架構更趨複雜,這種傳統的經營方式或許不再適用。

我們發現,亞洲富裕家族的年青一代心態更為開放,願意以更系統性和專業化的方式管理家族財富和業務2,從而省下時間和精力專注實現個人抱負和願景。

劉基群解釋:「年青一代的想法更為直接。他們當中有不少人曾經在海外留學,對自己的志向抱負有清晰的認知,並深明坦誠溝通的重要性。第三方專業人士可為家族企業長遠發展提供客觀意見,幫助它們在企業前景與代際家族關係之間取得適當的平衡。」

汲取疫情經驗

新冠肺炎疫情的衝擊揭示了管治及傳承規劃的重要性,並促使家族重新檢視現有的策略。

面對出行限制和遙距管治帶來的挑戰,家族需採取前所未有的決策模式,以應對無法預見、褔禍難料的財務狀況。

故此,不少家族開始面臨兩難局面。例如,疫情導致經濟低迷,以致某香港家族需出售部份製造業務。因該業務本應由下一代繼承人接掌,此突如其來的變故觸發了傳承與管治之間的矛盾。

這種矛盾亦僅是冰山一角。我們發現,家族企業在疫情期間的優先發展事項各有不同。有的家族企業較看重盈利能力和未來計劃,務求實現企業長青。有的則致力發掘投資新機遇,並積極參與慈善事業,向受疫情影響的社群提供支援。不論企業發展道路如何,家族成員之間的協調和共識至為關鍵。

「疫情促使各個家族重新審視如何提高向心力,令家族更為團結。」劉基群指出:「疫情亦令他們意識到制定傳承規劃藍圖的迫切性。」

讓決策回歸董事局

家族企業可透過制訂框架及協定機制,以客觀方式作出決策,免受情感衝突所左右。

疫情期間,有香港家族發現難以在維持家族和諧和成就企業發展之間作出抉擇。第一代創辦人希望為女兒保留家族企業名下一所物業,但年青一代則寧願將該物業變賣,藉此彌補零售業務表現欠佳造成的負現金流。因此,是否出售物業的議題引發了家族成員的激烈討論。

如果缺乏事先協定的管治程序,此等情況不但損害家族成員之間的互信,更有可能削弱企業的財務回報。

就以上問題,家族一般可參考市場上現行的多種方案。對於部份家族而言,股東協議與家族協議釐清決策框架,可有效化解矛盾。

另外,部份家族透過家族憲章,擬定共同的家族願景和目標,並以此作為決策指引。其中重中之重乃建立一個行之有效的溝通平台,讓家族成員可以坦誠溝通,釐定長遠的策略方向。

顯赫家族賴以成功的基石往往不在於朝夕的財富積累,而是傳承家族信念與價值觀。正如劉基群所言:「世事變幻莫測,唯有世代相承的價值、理念可延續傳奇,凝聚家族成員。」

亞洲獨有的家族企業文化

談到價值觀,亞洲家族的背景和文化不容忽視。 

劉基群指出:「一般而言,亞洲家族的家庭觀念普遍較強,家族成員甚至會將家族凝聚力置於個人利益之上。」

同時,家族傳承、文化和價值觀對家族企業影響深遠,家族成員因而致力在家族連繫與企業利益之間取得適當平衡,以此凸顯家族企業的獨特性,並促進企業長青 。

在亞洲,家族與企業之間的關係千絲萬縷,部份家族成員會掌管公司的重要業務;但西方國家的家族則普遍較依賴專業人士來管理企業的日常營運。疫情過後,愈來愈多的亞洲家族或趨於考慮採用專業的家族企業管理模式。

作為滙豐環球私人銀行的成員,滙豐信託在過去七十五年致力為亞洲家族出謀劃策,盡展獨特優勢,以支援家族企業不斷變化的需要,助企業實現財富增長、管理和傳承的目標。

我們在家族管治和傳承規劃方面積累了豐富的經驗和行業知識,可為家業的平穩交接提供支持,緩和家族與企業之間可能存在的矛盾,助客戶的資產代代相傳,家族生生不息。查詢詳情,請聯絡我們或您的客戶經理。

1Hubbis & Jersey Finance 2020 “Asia’s Great Wealth Transfer: Implications for the Wealth Management Community”

2Hubbis & Jersey Finance 2020 “Asia’s Great Wealth Transfer: Implications for the Wealth Management Community”

本網站所載資料提述在部分地區並無提供的服務或產品,或在任何相關地區,其組成部分、方法、結構和條款,以及客戶資格限制有別於其所述者的服務或產品。請聯絡客戶經理,查詢可能向閣下提供的服務和產品詳情。



所使用的「滙豐私人銀行」標籤、「我們」或「本行」是指滙豐環球私人銀行業務,並不代表任何法律實體或關係。

 

本資料與相關滙豐分行提供的特定服務(如有)的條款及條件構成完整文件。

 

本網站所載的任何內容不得被視為買賣任何一般或特定產品、服務或證券的要約、招攬、背書或建議,也不應被視為構成投資意見。

 

請注意,滙豐私人銀行並不提供法律和稅務意見。

 

在繼續瀏覽前,請參閱免責聲明和條款及條件全文。

Top of main content

Family business: going from dining table to boardroom table

18/10/2021
Wealth preservation
Succession planning
Wealth planning
Family governance
Family business

Family or business first? The global pandemic has imposed challenges on many Asian families who are in the early stages of the succession cycle, encouraging them to review their plans and consider professionalising the way they manage the intertwined family business, family relationships and legacy.

by HSBC Global Private Banking

Family businesses are unique. While they enjoy the benefit of shared values, history and solid relationships, families bring an emotional variable into the equation that can be unpredictable. By merging family and business, families open the door to unique internal pressures that can complicate or enrich the long-term financial returns of the business. 

If family businesses are to last, they need a mechanism in place to keep family and business matters apart, without upsetting either.

“This is true for everyday operations as well as when the business is transitioning between generations,” says Amy Lau, Director, Family Governance Advisory, Wealth Planning and Advisory at HSBC Global Private Banking.

Managing generational gaps

Set against the context of Asia’s “Great Wealth Transfer” between the ageing founder generation of many of the region’s most successful family businesses1 and their next generation heirs, intergenerational relationships are more crucial than ever. However, differences in perspective and approach to business can lead to conflict and communication breakdowns.

Driven by their strong emotional bond to the business they’ve built, founding family members are used to making decisions at the dinner table and taking a very hands-on approach to running the company. However as family businesses grow in scale and complexity, this traditional approach may no longer suffice.

We know that younger generations of affluent Asian families are relatively open minded on adopting more structured and professional approaches to managing family wealth and business2, allowing them to focus on their own pursuits and aspirations. 

“The younger generation are more direct. A lot of them studied abroad and have a clearer vision of what they want to achieve. They believe open communication is key and welcome exchange of ideas,” Lau explains. “Third-party professionals could bring in objectivity to strike an appropriate balance between the business outlook and family relationships across generations.” 

Lessons learnt from the pandemic

Headwinds brought about by the COVID-19 pandemic revealed the importance of governance and succession plans, and served as a major catalyst for families to reconsider their existing strategies.

They had to grapple with travel restrictions, remote governance and having to make ‘unprecedented’ decisions in reaction to unforeseen financial situations – positive and negative.

As a result, family dilemmas began to emerge. For example, due to the downturn caused by the pandemic, one Hong Kong-based family sold off part of the manufacturing business that the next generation heirs expected to take over. This sudden change of plan provoked disagreements over succession and governance.

This family was not alone. We saw some family enterprises focusing more critically on profitability and future-proofing plans to safeguard the business for future generations. For other families, they saw new opportunities for investment and engaging in philanthropic ventures to support communities affected by COVID-19. All these activities require alignment and agreement between family members.

“Families are now taking this opportunity to reexamine how the family as a whole can work together,” Lau says. “The pandemic has created a sense of urgency.”

Bringing decision making back to the boardroom

Formalising frameworks and introducing agreements can bring objectivity back to the decision-making process and remove the burden of emotional conflict.

As another Hong Kong-based family discovered during the pandemic, choosing between familial harmony and financial success can be challenging. A heated discussion arose over the sale of a property belonging to the family business – the first generation founder wanted to hold on to it for his daughter, while younger family members would rather sell it in order to compensate for the negative cash flow due to poor retail performance. 

Without pre-agreed governance processes in place, this type of situation can easily result in a decision with less optimal financial outcomes for the business in addition to jeopardising relationships between family members. 

There are multiple strategies available for addressing these situations. For some families, shareholder and family agreements that outline clear decision-making protocols can ensure conflicts are dealt with constructively. 

Other families may look at writing a family constitution outlining a shared family vision and purpose to guide decision-making. What is most important is giving the family a platform for communication so that they can come to the table for transparent conversations and define a forward-looking strategic direction for the family. 

What successful families have in common is an appreciation that while assets are transitory, shared values enable a lasting legacy. As Lau notes: “While all these processes may change, it’s these values that last and bring the family together.”

Operating in a uniquely Asian content

Speaking to values, it would be imprudent to ignore the context that Asian families find themselves in. 

“Asian families are in general characterised by strong family orientation where family members may even put family cohesion above self-interest,” Lau says. 

Family legacy, culture and values play a vital role in shaping Asian family businesses and hence bring the right balance between familial bonds and profitability, making the business unique and long-lasting.

Family and business are more closely intertwined in Asia with more family members managing key aspects of the business, unlike the West where families rely more on professional managers to run the business. This reflects that, in general, the progress of professionalising family businesses is at an earlier stage in Asia. But looking post pandemic, this is a trend that is beginning to evolve. 

With 75 years of experience in advising families in Asia, HSBC Trustee, as part of HSBC Global Private Banking, is uniquely positioned to support the changing needs of family enterprises as they grow, manage and preserve their wealth for the future. 

Our heritage and expertise in family governance and succession planning can help to professionalise family businesses and facilitate smooth transitions – mitigating dilemmas between family and business to help clients build a sustainable legacy for generations to come. To learn more, contact us or your Relationship Manager.

1Hubbis & Jersey Finance 2020 “Asia’s Great Wealth Transfer: Implications for the Wealth Management Community”

2Hubbis & Jersey Finance 2020 “Asia’s Great Wealth Transfer: Implications for the Wealth Management Community”

The information on this site refers to services or products which are not available in certain locations, or which, in any relevant location, may have components, methods, structures and terms different from the ones described, as well as restrictions on client eligibility. Please contact a Relationship Manager for details of services and products that may be available to you.

The use of the label ‘HSBC Private Banking’, ‘HSBC Private Bank’, ‘we’, or ‘us’ refers to HSBC’s worldwide private banking business, and is not indicative of any legal entity or relationship.

This information is entirely qualified by reference to the terms and conditions of the specific service, if any, provided by the relevant HSBC company.

Nothing here is to be deemed an offer, solicitation, endorsement, or recommendation to buy or sell any general or specific product, service or security and should not be considered to constitute investment advice.

Please note that HSBC Private Banking does not provide Legal and Tax Advice.

Before proceeding, please refer to the full Disclaimer and the Terms and Conditions.

This insight is only available when you're logged on.  

 

It is restricted to HSBC customers with the appropriate account details or transaction history.

Unfortunately, this content isn't available based on your account details. 

 

However there's still a wealth of information here for you.