主要內容頂部

代際關係與家業傳承

27/10/2021,更新于 28/06/2022
傳承規劃
家族管治
財富規劃
新世代

本文超越「富不過三代」的觀點,探討富裕家族祖孫之間獨特而微妙的感情,以及這種連結對當代亞洲家族財富傳承的影響。 

發布者 滙豐環球私人銀行

如何實現財富世代相傳是富裕家族面臨的共同挑戰。西諺有云「從白手興家到家道中落」(rags to riches to ruin),中文也有「富不過三代」的說法,這或多或少都反映了人們對傳承的憂慮。

說到財富傳承,白手興家的第一代和漸露鋒芒的第三代之間的關係總為人津津樂道。在亞洲「財富大轉移」趨勢下,祖孫兩代的關係比以往任何時候都更為重要。 

令人欣慰的是,儘管延續和傳承財富並非易事,新生代家族成員正積極尋找新的方式,確保家族財富和業務能恒久相傳。驅使他們作出這一舉動的,正是第一代與第三代祖孫兩輩之間獨特的感情維繫。 

祖父母在當代社會的角色

現今祖父母對後輩人生規劃的影響或較以往更深遠1。亞洲祖孫關係尤為密切,祖父母往往不惜投入大量資金支持孫兒的成長和教育,盼其有所成就。除物質財富之外,他們亦希望將知識文化和價值觀一併傳承給孫輩2

第一代掌舵人與孫輩的關係與跟子女有明顯不同。祖孫之間更容易成為互相信賴的知己。而與自己的雙親比較,孫兒亦往往能與祖父母坦誠相對3

滙豐環球私人銀行東南亞信託管理主管Steven Weekes表示:「第一代創業家與其子女談論正事時或會導致關係緊張,反而與孫輩在一起的時候更輕鬆自在,無所不談。」

為子孫後代提供安全網

祖父母往往會為家族年青成員設置不同的財富架構,以保障其教育和生活開支。現今愈來愈多的祖父母為孫輩提供更長久的支持,直至他們成家立業。

「對許多第一代創業家來說,他們關心孫兒更甚於子女,並尤其關注孫輩在教育方面的需求。」Weekes指出:「這主要是因為第二代成員通常已參與家族業務或開拓自己的事業,有能力自給自足。」

倘若第二代家族成員因種種原因無法履行養育職責,例如不幸離世,祖父母也樂意提供更多協助,全力照顧孫兒的生活及財務所需。 

協助新世代追求夢想

富裕家族的祖父母們深明孫兒各懷抱負,無論創業或開展慈善事業,祖父母都願以財力支持他們實現理想。 

「創富一代往往支持第三代年青成員追求夢想。」Weekes解釋說:

因成長背景和所處社會環境的不同,第一代和第三代家庭成員關注的重點亦有所不同。企業創始人或許著眼於財富增長,新生代卻另有抱負,他們不僅希望創業,還致力回饋社會。

此外,年青家族成員亦不認同所有項目都旨在獲取豐厚回報。曾有家族的第一代離世後留下信託基金,子女就用這筆資金開辦了育兒中心。雖然這不一定能帶來可觀的資金回報,但卻非常有意義,同時也實踐了年青一代的抱負。 

在保駕護航和自由發展之間取得平衡

第一代創業家無疑願助孫輩實踐個人理想,但也要確保他們能合理運用財富。如何在保護家族利益、促進家族和諧的前提下給予孫輩自由發展的空間,值得祖父母思考。

第三代需要自由空間發展事業和投資創富,進而為社會帶來正面影響;但與此同時,他們亦要明白長輩對家族企業肩負的責任。

第一代掌舵人需要準確拿捏保護和管束後輩的分寸。長輩在創業時並未有條條框框的約束,因此對年青成員的抱負提出諸多限制似乎不合情理。然而,無節制的財力支持亦會埋下隱憂。 

要找到完美的解決方案並不容易。富裕家族需要設立機制,確保在滿足家族需求的同時可為第三代成員提供開創事業所需的自由空間和資金支持。家族成員也應意識到,人各有志,第三代成員的投資興趣亦可能超出家族企業的核心業務範疇。 

有些家族會擬訂規例,以降低風險及避免家族紛爭,甚或釐定準則,訂明第三代成員的新業務不得直接與家族企業競爭。另一些家族可能委任中立的第三方,就創業方案投下決定性的一票;或訂立協議,規定把一定比例的創業盈利回撥至家族企業。

以專業和系統的方式保障家族資源可以確保第三代在公開透明的機制下獲得所需支持,以及有可持續的生態系統推動成員熱衷的項目、業務和投資;同時,家族業務亦得到更多元化發展,在持續調整中滿足不斷演變的市場需要。 

展望未來

若要確保家業順利交接,長輩應幫助第三代作好傳承財富的準備。優質的大學教育固然不可少,但更重要的是家族成員的言傳身教。 

Weekes建議:「我們鼓勵客戶在生前訂立遺囑,並持續與子孫溝通,讓他們了解自己的願望和期許。坦誠的溝通不僅有助於現有家族成員增進對彼此的理解,亦能令子孫後代知悉長輩創業的抱負,以及期盼傳承下去的價值理念。透過鼓勵全體家族成員多多聆聽後輩的想法和心願,可有效減少彼此之間的紛爭。」

滙豐致力透過新世代傳承計劃(Next Generation programme),與年青家族成員分享我們的專業知識和意見,並為其提供有關財務管理的基本知識,為他們日後傳承財富作好準備。我們的計劃亦提供一個廣泛的人脈網絡平台,讓年青家族成員透過各類活動連結志同道合、經歷相仿的人士。

Weekes表示:「作為受託人,過去七十五年來,滙豐信託致力為亞洲家族提供專業服務,促進財富有序傳承。我們與客戶建立緊密的夥伴關係,為他們量身定制解決方案,幫助他們實現向第三代,甚至第四代、第五代家族成員的有序交棒。」我們與客戶並肩同行,滿足其獨有需求,並透過我們積累的豐富經驗和行業知識,幫助家族實現財富相傳、基業長青的願景。查詢詳情,請聯絡我們或您的客戶經理。

1 Bao, L., & Huang, Y. (2020). Parenting and Grandparenting. 

2 Mehta, K. K., & Thang, L. L. (2012). Introduction: Introducing grandparenthood in Asia. 

3 The Oxford Handbook of Emerging Adulthood & Dimensions of Grandparent-Adult Grandchild Relationships: From Family Ties to Intergenerational Friendships (2005) 

本網站所載資料提述在部分地區並無提供的服務或產品,或在任何相關地區,其組成部分、方法、結構和條款,以及客戶資格限制有別於其所述者的服務或產品。請聯絡客戶經理,查詢可能向閣下提供的服務和產品詳情。



所使用的「滙豐私人銀行」標籤、「我們」或「本行」是指滙豐環球私人銀行業務,並不代表任何法律實體或關係。

 

本資料與相關滙豐分行提供的特定服務(如有)的條款及條件構成完整文件。

 

本網站所載的任何內容不得被視為買賣任何一般或特定產品、服務或證券的要約、招攬、背書或建議,也不應被視為構成投資意見。

 

請注意,滙豐私人銀行並不提供法律和稅務意見。

 

在繼續瀏覽前,請參閱免責聲明和條款及條件全文。

Top of main content

Understanding family dynamics across generations

27/10/2021, updated 04/01/2022
Next Generation
Succession planning
Wealth planning
Family governance

Looking beyond the “third generation trap” we explore the nuanced and unique relationships between grandparents and grandchildren and the impact this has on modern wealth transitions in Asian families.

by HSBC Global Private Banking

The challenges of passing wealth down through the generations are common, almost all cultures have their own version of the old adage “wealth does not survive past three generations”.  While the West might say “rags to riches to ruin,” in the East the expression is “rice paddies to rice paddies in three generations.”

The relationship between first generation wealth creators and the rising third generation is conventionally seen as a cautionary tale around wealth transfer. It is, however, more important than ever as Asia goes through a great wealth transition.

Sustaining and transferring wealth is a challenge that affluent families face. However, younger generations are finding new ways of ensuring the longevity of their family’s wealth and business. And at the heart of this is the family dynamic between the first and third generation - the unique bond between grandparents and grandchildren.

Understanding the role of grandparents in modern society

Grandparents today are more likely than earlier generations to play an influential role in their grandchildren’s lives1. In Asia, the first generation have especially strong ties with their grandchildren and are highly invested in their upbringing and education. They want to hand down more than just wealth, playing an important social role as transmitters of cultural values and knowledge2.

It is a markedly different relationship than the one they have with their children. Grandparents and adult grandchildren can serve as confidants to one another, and grandchildren are often able to be more open with their grandparents than their parents3.

“There is more of a struggle between the first and second generation about talking about things that matter,” says Steven Weekes, Head of Trust and Fiduciary Services, South East Asia at HSBC Global Private Banking. “Whereas grandchildren and grandparents talk a lot about things that matter to each of them individually and not just about the business.”

Providing a safety net for future generations

The first generation create various structures to provide their grandchildren with support for their education and lifestyle maintenance.

Increasingly we are seeing this support lasting longer, until the grandchildren are in their thirties and forties.

“For many first generation clients, they are currently more concerned about the needs of their grandchildren than their children, particularly their education,” Weekes notes. “Often, their children are already working in the family business or engaged in careers and able to support themselves.”

The first generation also step in to play a bigger role if the second generation are unable to do so. For instance, if their children were to pass away, the grandparents intervene to care for their grandchildren both physically, and financially.

 

Enabling younger generations to pursue their dreams

Affluent grandparents recognise the individual ambitions of their grandchildren and use their wealth to provide support. This could be through financing the younger generation’s entrepreneurial spirit or their desire to help people through philanthropy.

"The first generation would like to allow the third generation to pursue their dreams," explains Weekes.

Wealth creators focus on growth, quite different compared to the younger generation who do not merely invest but also share wealth within the community.

There is also recognition in the younger generation that not every venture has to be a wealth-generating one. In one example, the first generation passed away leaving behind a trust that allowed the eldest child to open a childcare centre. It was a rewarding initiative that wasn’t going to return a huge investment but allowed the younger generation to follow their dreams.

The importance of balancing protection and autonomy

As much as the first generation want to enable their grandchildren’s personal fulfilment, managing how they use the wealth must be done in a way that protects the family’s interests and promotes family unity and harmony. The balance is key.

The third generation needs to be given the freedom to pursue their own ventures and investments and make positive change in the world, whilst acknowledging the sense of duty which often the earlier generations feel towards the family business.

It’s a delicate balance between protection and control. The first generation didn’t have any vetting protocols when they were achieving their goals, so it can feel unfair to stifle the ambitions of the younger generation. It is also risky to allow uncontrolled spending.

In reality, there is no perfect solution. Families require a mechanism in place to ensure the needs of the family are met while the third generation have the freedom and the funds to pursue their own entrepreneurial ventures.  This may be outside the core family business as individuals make their own investment decisions.

Some families may agree on rules that mitigate risk and avoid family disputes, or even set criteria around ventures not directly competing with the family business. Others might appoint an impartial third party to be the deciding vote caster on a venture proposal or create an agreement that a portion of any profits go back into the family business.

Stewardship of family resources in a professional and systematic way allows an open and transparent process to support the third generation and ensures a sustainable ecosystem for passion projects, ventures and investments; while allowing the family business to diversify and evolve to meet the needs of a changing world.

Looking to the future

The best way to ensure a smooth transition is by preparing the third generation for the wealth they will inherit. While giving them a fine university education is extremely valuable, many important lessons originate at home.

“We encourage our clients to do a living will; talk to your children and grandchildren through the process, so they can hear your hopes and expectations,” advises Weekes. “That communication is so important for all generations, but also future generations who will have no direct contact with you. How else will they hear about what you wanted to achieve, or what values you want to pass down? This also encourages all generations to listen to their children and grandchildren’s needs and aspirations. It also minimises the chance of family fall-out or disputes.”

We are committed to offering our knowledge and support through our Next Generation programme to engage younger generations and provide them with foundational knowledge about financial management so they are prepared for the wealth they will inherit. Our programmes also provide a networking platform connecting like-minded individuals going through the same experiences.

“As a trustee, we have been working with Asian families for 75 years and facilitating smooth wealth transitions. We partner with our clients to work out how the wealth can pass forward, and not just to the third generation but even the fourth and fifth,” says Weekes. The insight we’ve gained through many years of walking alongside families to support their unique needs means we’re able to help families transition the wealth from generation to generation. To learn more, contact us or your Relationship Manager.

1 Bao, L., & Huang, Y. (2020). Parenting and Grandparenting. 

2 Mehta, K. K., & Thang, L. L. (2012). Introduction: Introducing grandparenthood in Asia. 

3 The Oxford Handbook of Emerging Adulthood & Dimensions of Grandparent-Adult Grandchild Relationships: From Family Ties to Intergenerational Friendships (2005) 

The information on this site refers to services or products which are not available in certain locations, or which, in any relevant location, may have components, methods, structures and terms different from the ones described, as well as restrictions on client eligibility. Please contact a Relationship Manager for details of services and products that may be available to you.

The use of the label ‘HSBC Private Banking’, ‘HSBC Private Bank’, ‘we’, or ‘us’ refers to HSBC’s worldwide private banking business, and is not indicative of any legal entity or relationship.

This information is entirely qualified by reference to the terms and conditions of the specific service, if any, provided by the relevant HSBC company.

Nothing here is to be deemed an offer, solicitation, endorsement, or recommendation to buy or sell any general or specific product, service or security and should not be considered to constitute investment advice.

Please note that HSBC Private Banking does not provide Legal and Tax Advice.

Before proceeding, please refer to the full Disclaimer and the Terms and Conditions.

This insight is only available when you're logged on.  

 

It is restricted to HSBC customers with the appropriate account details or transaction history.

Unfortunately, this content isn't available based on your account details. 

 

However there's still a wealth of information here for you.