主要內容頂部

ESG與慈善事業:造福當下,成就未來

18/10/2021
環境、社會及管治(ESG)
慈善事業
可持續發展
氣候
慈善活動

不論是在中國內地建造人工濕地,或是保育香港的珊瑚群落,以至為斯里蘭卡的醫院興建太陽能供電系統,全球慈善家正積極擁抱環境、社會及管治(ESG)理念,致力建構可持續未來。

發布者 滙豐環球私人銀行

隨著氣候變化的影響加劇,可持續發展已成為全球的當務之急。聯合國發佈的「可持續發展目標」1正是為了進一步推動正面的轉變。不同國家、企業和慈善家現可根據該指引制訂計劃和活動,通過實際行動保護地球環境和人類福祉。 

不少企業和投資者都希望在不影響未來世代生活環境的前提下,滿足當今社會的需要。為實現這個目標,他們把環境、社會和管治(ESG)要素納入核心考量,並全力支持環球經濟轉型至淨零碳排放模式。滙豐集團早前就宣布推出「氣候解決方案夥伴計劃」,將在全球投放一億美元,協助不同企業和綠色項目獲得發展資金。

對慈善家而言,ESG提供了一套具體且可量化的框架以評估他們的捐助活動,並幫助他們了解所在社區以至全球最迫切的需要,確保以負責任的方式實現其慈善抱負。

滙豐環球私人銀行董事總經理兼香港隊主管及慈善信託服務主管李穎詩表示:「以往亞洲的慈善家多專注於教育、醫療或扶貧項目,但他們現已開始把重心轉移至可持續發展和環境保育,以助下一代建立美好的生活環境。他們亦希望進一步了解全球可持續發展需求及迫切需要改善的範疇,並致力與不同的非政府機構(NGO)合作,透過創新方式取得更佳的成果,並在可持續發展方面發揮更大的影響力。 」

基於ESG理念所提出的架構和流程,可有效推動亞洲公益事業的發展。在環境、社會和管治之間取得適當平衡,更能確保慈善項目的長遠影響力,達致解決當前問題同時應對未來挑戰的目標。

氣候變化對亞洲造成深遠影響

根據科學家預測,2100年全球將有超過十億人口生活於飽受水災困擾的低窪地區,這其中有70%位於東南亞2。人類亦將面臨潛在的健康和社會危機,包括愈來愈多的昆蟲傳播疾病,以及由季節性農作物失收導致的貧困問題。

面對這一危機,採取具體行動應對氣候變化固然重要,但基礎研究亦可幫助科學家深入了解氣候變化對自然和人工環境造成的影響。公益慈善事業正可在這方面發揮作用。

李穎詩指出:「我們有一位極具遠見卓識的客戶,致力運用與香港和亞洲研究人員的人際網絡,大力支持與生物多樣性相關的科學研究工作,希望未來世代也能與我們一樣,和各類物種共存於地球。」

為此,這位慈善家的慈善基金會資助了一家本地大學進行研究,了解海水升溫如何影響香港珊瑚、海葵和水母等海洋刺胞動物的生態。這項研究有助保育專家制訂策略,讓生物圈在未來數十年能夠獲得適切的保護。

滿足當下和未來的社會需要

慈善家常常要在滿足當下或未來世代的需求之間取捨,然而,答案不一定要二選一,也可以一石二鳥。

例如,一位慈善家透過其基金會資助由一名斯里蘭卡學生發起的項目,研究如何運用太陽能促進鄉鎮建設。該名學生發現當地一家醫院經常受停電問題困擾,於是與NGO和基金會合作建造了一個自給自足的太陽能供電系統,既減少醫院對化石燃料發電的依賴,亦解決電力供應不足的問題。

李穎詩表示:「NGO現已成為我們的重要持份者和合作夥伴。他們實地參與工作,親身了解問題所在,並幫助我們識別服務缺口,讓慈善基金會為合適的項目提供資助。」

我們就曾透過這種夥伴合作關係,為客戶成功找到一個由NGO營運的中國東江流域水資源管理項目。該項目在一個小村莊建造人工濕地,以求解決生活污水和有機污染物問題。

項目以微貸方式運用部份資金,用於教育當地村民如何透過保育濕地及美景,令小村莊成為生態旅遊勝地,促進該區的經濟發展。

在各方的共同努力下,該項目不僅為社區注入動力,也有助解決環境污染問題,改善衛生條件及村民的生活質素。此外,由於負責營運的NGO管治得宜,項目亦得以實現自我管理和持續發展。

ESG框架下管治的重要性

李穎詩認為:「管治並不單關乎法律合規和反貪腐,而是要以開誠布公及問責的方式對組織進行管理。隨著管治要素在ESG框架下的持續發展,這一概念現亦涵蓋盡責投資、應急準備、僱員福利,甚至是多元共融等元素。」

透過有效運用資本、負責任的資源分配,以至風險管理及審核所支持公益目標的合理性等管治方式,慈善活動可實現在財務狀況和社會貢獻之間取得平衡。

我們有一位慈善家深明良好管治的長遠價值,因此設立了一個獎學金計劃,資助NGO領袖前往著名的海外院校深造,日後利用所學知識服務本港社群。透過這一計劃,NGO領袖不但能以專業的方式推行項目並管理組織,同時也培養了關愛社會的價值觀。此外,妥善而全面的規劃亦有助NGO可持續發展。

提升ESG因素對慈善事業的影響力

事實上,氣候變化只是全球面對的眾多挑戰之一。作為可靠的合作夥伴,滙豐環球私人銀行為客戶的公益慈善事業或投資提供支持,與一眾客戶攜手擁抱ESG理念。

李穎詩指出:「現代的慈善家並不滿足於純粹捐款,他們樂於與我們攜手協作,親身參與項目發掘,確保其慈善基金能發揮可持續的社會影響力。我們的慈善信託團隊一直與NGO夥伴和家族客戶並肩合作,令家族的公益慈善事業世代相傳,並進一步造福世界。」

憑藉環球業務網絡和卓越專才,我們為客戶慈善事業的各個環節提供支持,並從中穿針引線,幫助他們建立連繫,為世界帶來正向轉變。

滙豐信託成立七十五周年誌慶,現正與東南亞雨林研究計劃協會(The South East Asia Rainforest Research Partnership)合作,在馬來西亞婆羅州沙巴市展開一項為期五年的研究計劃,探討雨林修復、植樹及氣候變化等課題。查詢詳情,請聯絡我們或您的客戶經理。

本網站所載資料提述在部分地區並無提供的服務或產品,或在任何相關地區,其組成部分、方法、結構和條款,以及客戶資格限制有別於其所述者的服務或產品。請聯絡客戶經理,查詢可能向閣下提供的服務和產品詳情。



所使用的「滙豐私人銀行」標籤、「我們」或「本行」是指滙豐環球私人銀行業務,並不代表任何法律實體或關係。

 

本資料與相關滙豐分行提供的特定服務(如有)的條款及條件構成完整文件。

 

本網站所載的任何內容不得被視為買賣任何一般或特定產品、服務或證券的要約、招攬、背書或建議,也不應被視為構成投資意見。

 

請注意,滙豐私人銀行並不提供法律和稅務意見。

 

在繼續瀏覽前,請參閱免責聲明和條款及條件全文。

Top of main content

ESG and Philanthropy: meeting the needs of the present and future

18/10/2021
Philanthropy
Charity
Sustainability
ESG
Climate

From constructed wetlands in mainland China and coral reefs in Hong Kong to solar powered hospitals in Sri Lanka, philanthropists are embracing ESG for a sustainable future.

by HSBC Global Private Banking

As the increasing impact of climate change has been felt around the global, sustainability has become a greater priority globally. This positive change in approach is supported by the UN Sustainable Development Goals1 which provide a rubric that countries, companies and philanthropists are aligning their activities towards in order to take action to protect the planet and people. 

Companies and investors are looking at ways of meeting the needs of the present without affecting the ability of future generations to do the same. They do this by embedding environmental, social and governance (ESG) factors into their core operation, and supporting a global transition to a net zero carbon economy as HSBC have done with a USD100 million philanthropic capital investment in climate solutions.

For philanthropists, ESG provides a more specific and measurable framework by which to qualify their giving and identify the most pressing needs for their community and the planet, and ensure their activities are managed in a responsible way.

“Historically philanthropists in Asia have focused on education, medical support or poverty relief, but there’s been a shift in focus to sustainability and protecting the environment for the next generation,” says Christina Lee, Managing Director, Hong Kong Team Head and Head of Charitable Services, Trust and Fiduciary Services at HSBC Global Private Banking. “They are also more interested in understanding what the needs and gaps are, engaging different NGOs to make a bigger and sustainable impact through innovative means.” 

Considering ESG factors provides a structure and process to take Asian philanthropy forward. Striking a good balance amongst the “E”, “S” and “G” pillars is pivotal to securing long-term impacts in philanthropic initiatives that solve problems not only for the present, but the future as well.

Asia is particularly vulnerable to the impact of climate change

By 2100, it is projected that over 1 billion people will be living in low-lying areas subjected to frequent flooding – 70 per cent of these in Southeast Asia2. Potential future health and societal implications range from increased vector-borne disease transmission to poverty due to seasonal crop failures. 

While concrete actions to combat climate change are much needed, primary research helps scientists better understand the consequences of a changing climate on natural and built environments. This is an area where philanthropy has a meaningful role to play. 

“We have a client who has managed to establish a very personal relationship with researchers in Hong Kong and Asia,” says Kalmond Ma, Associate Director, Trust and Fiduciary Services at HSBC Global Private Banking. “He has the vision to support scientific research so that future generations will still be able to enjoy the species and biodiversity that we see today.” 

His philanthropic foundation funds research that a local university is conducting on how rising sea water temperatures are affecting marine cnidarians such as coral, sea anemone and jellyfish in Hong Kong. This work will help conservationists develop strategies to protect the biosphere over the coming decades.

Meeting the social needs of the present and future

One key dilemma that philanthropists face is how to balance meeting the immediate needs of the present with those of future generations. But this doesn’t always need to be a binary choice.

A client’s foundation is funding a project initiated by a student in Sri Lanka who is looking at how solar energy can help develop rural communities. He identified a local hospital that suffers from frequent power shortages and partnered with NGOs and foundations to build a self-sustaining solar panel system that reduced the hospital’s dependency on fossil fuels for power generation and solving power shortage.

“Some of our key stakeholders and partners are the NGOs themselves, because they are the ones who actually go out to the field and understand the issues first hand,” notes Ma. “They help us identify what are the gaps that our philanthropic foundations can fund.”

One such initiative that we were able to identify for a client was an NGO-run water stewardship project in the Dongjiang Basin in China where a constructed wetland was built in a small village to solve sewage and organic pollution issues.

A portion of the funding by way of micro-financing went to the local community to educate local residents on how to maintain the wetland and preserve the beautiful scenery as an eco-tourism location to enhance the economic development of that region.

This project empowered the community as well as solving environmental pollution to improve the hygiene and well-being of the villagers, while careful governance by the NGO meant that the initiative was self-sustaining and responsibly managed.

Understanding the importance of governance in the ESG framework

“Governance is not just about legal compliance and anti-corruption but running organisations in a transparent and accountable way,” says Ma. “As it has evolved within the ESG scope, it includes ideas like responsible investing, emergency preparedness, employee welfare, and even diversity and inclusion.” 

Proper governance of philanthropic activities is fundamental to creating a balance between the financial and social goals of the project, from efficient use of capital and responsible allocation of resources through to risk management and checking the validity of the causes being supported.

One of our philanthropy clients who saw the long-term value of great governance set up scholarships for NGO leaders to pursue education at leading institutions abroad and bring the knowledge back to Hong Kong. This initiative empowered NGO leaders to run their projects and organisations professionally, but also with a charitable heart. Better and more holistic planning also allows NGOs to grow sustainably.

Expanding the scope of ESG in philanthropy

Climate change is just one of the many challenges facing the planet. As a partner, HSBC Global Private Banking works with our clients to embrace ESG elements through the philanthropic activities they support, or the investments they make.

“Modern philanthropists are no longer armchair philanthropists just cutting cheques for charitable causes. They are eager to join hands with us and participate in project identification to ensure their philanthropic funds really create sustainable impacts on society,” Lee comments. “Our charitable trust team work with NGOs and with families to create a real legacy that benefits family members as well as the world.”

With our global footprint and expertise, we support our clients throughout their philanthropic journey, making the right connections and enabling positive changes to the world.

As we celebrate 75 years, HSBC Trustee is partnering with The South East Asia Rainforest Research Partnership to conduct a research programme focusing on rainforest restoration, tree planting and climate change in Sabah, Malaysian Borneo over a 5-year period. For more information, contact us or your Relationship Manager.

The information on this site refers to services or products which are not available in certain locations, or which, in any relevant location, may have components, methods, structures and terms different from the ones described, as well as restrictions on client eligibility. Please contact a Relationship Manager for details of services and products that may be available to you.

The use of the label ‘HSBC Private Banking’, ‘HSBC Private Bank’, ‘we’, or ‘us’ refers to HSBC’s worldwide private banking business, and is not indicative of any legal entity or relationship.

This information is entirely qualified by reference to the terms and conditions of the specific service, if any, provided by the relevant HSBC company.

Nothing here is to be deemed an offer, solicitation, endorsement, or recommendation to buy or sell any general or specific product, service or security and should not be considered to constitute investment advice.

Please note that HSBC Private Banking does not provide Legal and Tax Advice.

Before proceeding, please refer to the full Disclaimer and the Terms and Conditions.

This insight is only available when you're logged on.  

 

It is restricted to HSBC customers with the appropriate account details or transaction history.

Unfortunately, this content isn't available based on your account details. 

 

However there's still a wealth of information here for you.