主要內容頂部

世界新格局:傳承規劃迫在眉睫

18/10/2021
家族財富
傳承規劃
財富規劃
財富傳承
財富保障

受全球疫情影響,富裕家族成員需適應新常態下的生活與工作模式。這令他們意識到,若家族要達至薪火相傳,著手開展傳承規劃迫在眉睫。

發布者 滙豐環球私人銀行

「沒有做好準備, 就是準備好要失敗。」美國政治家富蘭克林(Benjamin Franklin)的名言道出行事缺乏規劃可能要付出沉重的代價。而這句名言亦貼切地描繪出當代富裕家族的處境。

突如其來的新冠疫情對人們的生活造成前所未有的影響,更令未來變得不可預測。

這一轉變使亞洲的富裕家族意識到盡快考慮適合的傳承規劃方案,以及制定相關架構和策略的重要性。

滙豐環球私人銀行亞洲信託管理高級董事張穎芝指出:「不少富裕家族從前或認為傳承規劃並非優先事項,可留待數年後處理。但疫情令他們認識到傳承規劃的迫切性,並希望採取行動。」

無國界社會

疫情爆發之前,我們身處一個全球化的時代,開放的邊境和便利的交通令人們能輕鬆前往不同國家旅行或居住。對許多富裕家族而言,隨著家族日益壯大,成員分佈於全球各地、家族逐步走向國際化乃自然而然的事。愈來愈多的年青一輩遠赴國外留學生活,在世界的不同角落開展人生旅程。

隨著傳統家族企業在全球開展業務,他們在迎接更多機遇和增長潛力的同時亦需應對種種挑戰,包括不斷變化的法規,更高的稅務透明度要求,以及國外市場的不明朗因素等。

張穎芝表示:「我們與客戶攜手並肩,促進家族成員之間的坦誠溝通。」

基於我們的環球業務網絡,我們與行業專家保持緊密聯繫,助客戶隨時掌握最新的稅務、法律及監管變化。

營運模式突變

疫情爆發後,在全球各地經營業務、求學或生活的家族成員被迫留守原地,因此造成彼此間的距離感。這種突如其來的變化對國際家族固有的營商模式造成衝擊。 

家族從而需重新審視現時的營運策略和模式,以確保業務和投資在新的環境下能夠順利延續。

基於此背景,同時考慮到愈來愈多的亞洲家族第一或第二代成員正計劃代際傳承,傳承規劃因而成為家族掌舵人關注的焦點。家業傳承不能因邊境管制而停止,也不能無限期推延。張穎芝提出簡單的建議:

家族需要預先籌劃,即使沒有完美或便捷的方案,也不應躊躇不前。我們可以一起探索、共同成長。

以往,當我們與白手興家的客戶討論家族下一任家業掌舵人時,他們一般會選擇男性繼任人或直系親屬。時至今日,現代家族模式更加多樣化,透過代孕或由多元性別(LGBTQ+)伴侶領養的孩子也能成為家族一份子,進而促使家族將這種微妙的家庭關係及與之相伴的核心價值納入考量。

適應線上運作

面對疫情衝擊,大部份商業活動和溝通幾乎在轉瞬之間遷移到網絡世界。此變化促使人們學習使用新科技,以避免親身接觸,從而降低患病的風險。

雖然家族成員分佈各地,疫情無疑又為社會經濟發展帶來負面影響,但張穎芝仍從中看到希望,她認為:

新冠疫情促使我們迅速掌握新科技,並以此拉近彼此之間的距離。

視像會議軟件的廣泛應用推動虛擬會議的發展,並出乎意料地加快了決策和規劃的流程。這不僅令家族成員節省出行時間,還免除了其他社交活動的干擾,讓他們有更多時間制定和完成計劃。 

過去,我們每年會為一些較大的家族舉辦一至兩次為期數天的家族大會,家族成員和顧問從各地趕來聚首一堂。現在我們可以將這些大會縮短為多個網上會議,充分提升討論效率並加速決策。

除上述變化之外,疫情還改變了人們的心態。第一或第二代創富者更加迫切地思考家業傳承問題:如果我不在了該怎麼辦?我的家族和業務以後會變成怎樣?

「愈來愈多家族開始積極規劃傳承,第三方專業人士可為家族提供嶄新的觀點和公允的建議,以確保傳承過程順利。」張穎芝指出:「聽取客觀意見,集思廣益總會帶來裨益。」

兼容並蓄,盡早籌劃

我們借鑒最顯赫家族的經驗,了解到只有放遠目光、靈活適應環境變遷並及早籌備規劃,方能妥善應對那些可以預見或突如其來的內在和外在轉變。歷經新冠疫情,我們充分認識到世事變化莫測,僅依靠過往趨勢對未來作出判斷未必足夠。 

有見於此,富裕家族應制定靈活策略,並因時制宜地應對不斷演變的法規和政策,進而駕馭日新月異的投資和商業環境。 

「不要等到最後一刻才行動。」張穎芝續說:「試想一下,若你花了半輩子的時間來累積財富和建立事業,你斷然不會希望只花十分鐘就草草完成傳承規劃。」

過去一年間,許多家族都意識到傳承規劃的迫切性,而此刻正是採取行動的最佳時機。雖然人們的壽命普遍增長,但就制定傳承規劃而言,最重要的乃是在第一代家族成員尚有精力分享他們的觀點和願景的時候採取行動,以助家族的價值觀及財富世代相傳。

如果情況允許,讓下一代參與規劃、聆聽他們的意見和策略也至關重要。張穎芝觀察到愈來愈多家族擁有更開明和坦誠的態度,致力透過融洽溝通,讓年青一代接受長輩的想法,同時感受到自己是規劃的一份子。

傳承規劃旨在惠及下一代。讓他們參與規劃,才可以匯聚眾人的智慧,使規劃更縝密周詳。

為家族財富傳承保駕護航

過去七十五年來,我們致力了解亞洲家族的傳統與期望,並獲得了眾多家族的信賴。作為滙豐環球私人銀行的成員,滙豐信託為國際家族成員世世代代提供全方位財富規劃方案,從量身定制的信託架構和管理,以至家族辦公室、家族管治及慈善事業服務。 

憑藉雄厚實力,我們協助家族運籌帷幄,保障財富世代傳承。透過遍佈世界各地的業務網絡,我們為客戶提供廣博的環球專業知識,為他們的全球財富管理提供全面支持。查詢詳情,請聯絡我們或您的客戶經理。

本網站所載資料提述在部分地區並無提供的服務或產品,或在任何相關地區,其組成部分、方法、結構和條款,以及客戶資格限制有別於其所述者的服務或產品。請聯絡客戶經理,查詢可能向閣下提供的服務和產品詳情。



所使用的「滙豐私人銀行」標籤、「我們」或「本行」是指滙豐環球私人銀行業務,並不代表任何法律實體或關係。

 

本資料與相關滙豐分行提供的特定服務(如有)的條款及條件構成完整文件。

 

本網站所載的任何內容不得被視為買賣任何一般或特定產品、服務或證券的要約、招攬、背書或建議,也不應被視為構成投資意見。

 

請注意,滙豐私人銀行並不提供法律和稅務意見。

 

在繼續瀏覽前,請參閱免責聲明和條款及條件全文。

Top of main content

A new world: turning plans into action

18/10/2021
Wealth preservation
Succession planning
Wealth planning
Passing wealth
Family Wealth

Displaced by the global pandemic, families are faced with new ways of living, working and a more imminent realisation of the need to take action on succession planning to secure their legacy.

by HSBC Global Private Banking

“If you fail to plan, you are planning to fail.” Benjamin Franklin’s famous quote captures succinctly the notion that lack of planning will have costly consequences. It is a statement that has never been more pertinent for today’s families. 

No one could have planned for the unprecedented impact that COVID-19 would have on almost every aspect of modern life. Things are not as foreseeable as they were in the past.

This has prompted affluent Asian families to consider proper succession planning and the importance of having proper structures and strategies in place.

“Before COVID-19, many people saw succession planning as something they would deal with in a few years’ time; it wasn’t a priority.” says Sandie Cheung, Senior Director, Trust and Fiduciary Services, Asia at HSBC Global Private Banking. “But now they see the immediate need and want to take action.”

A truly global and borderless society

We live in an age of internationalism. Pre-pandemic, open borders and easy mobility made travelling and living in different countries easier than ever. For many affluent families, going global is not uncommon when families grow, and family members spread out around the world. Increasingly younger family members are studying and staying abroad, building lives in different corners of the world. 

Traditional family businesses are also increasingly operating on a global platform, opening the door to more opportunities and growth potential but also challenges such as changing regulations, tax transparency requirements and foreign market uncertainties.

“We work hand-in-hand with our clients to facilitate communication between family members,” says Cheung. 

Our global presence also allows us to stay connected with our network of industry experts, and keep our clients abreast of the latest tax, legal and regulatory changes.

Operating in a world that changed overnight

When the pandemic happened, families that were accustomed to travelling freely were suddenly unable to do so. Displaced geographically and disconnected from each other, international families were faced with unexpected scenarios that impeded the way they usually and did business. 

Families were forced to revisit their existing strategies and operating models to ensure their businesses and investments were economically viable in the new environment. 

It also brought succession planning to the forefront of people’s minds - particularly given the great wealth transfer underway in Asian by first or second generations to the next generations. This transition doesn’t simply stop when borders close, nor can it be postponed indefinitely. Cheung’s advice is simple,

Families need to plan ahead, and even if there’s no perfect or quick solution that is no reason to stop. We can explore and grow together.

In the past, when we discussed with first generation wealth creators who they wanted to benefit from the family legacy, they would choose between male heirs or expanding to everyone with the same bloodline. Now, modern families are more diverse and can include children from surrogate mothers or adopted by LGBTQ+ couples. This has prompted families to consider new dynamics and determine what matters most.

Adapting to a more virtual world

Almost instantly, most business activities and communication moved online. This forced people to become more tech literate, especially individuals who wish to avoid in-person contact with others to minimise risk of getting ill. 

While familial separation and the socio-economic impacts of the pandemic were unquestionably negative, Cheung sees a silver lining: 

COVID-19 encouraged all of us to pick up new technologies very quickly. In that way it brought us closer together.

The widespread adoption of video conferencing enabled virtual meetings and had the unexpected effect of speeding up decision-making and planning processes. Not only were family members saving time on travel, without other social functions and distractions, individuals had more time to plan and get work done. 

“In the past, for some larger families we would host a few consecutive days of family meetings once or twice a year, with family members and advisers flying in from around the world,” says Cheung. “Now we can break down these meetings into shorter online sessions with increased frequency, allowing more productive discussions and faster decision-making.” 

These changes were also accompanied by a shift in mindset due to the pandemic as things took on a greater urgency to first or second generation wealth creators grappling with bigger questions: What if I’m no longer around? What happens to my family and my business tomorrow?

“As more families begin to actively plan their legacy, having a third-party professional may offer new perspectives and impartial advice to ensure smoother transitions,” Cheung notes. “It never hurts to have another pair of eyes looking over things.”

Plan early and be inclusive

What we can learn from the most successful families is to be forward-thinking and adaptable, planning ahead to respond responsibly to foreseen and unforeseen external and internal forces. If COVID-19 has taught us anything, it’s that nothing is certain, and we cannot rely on past trends as an indicator of the future. 

Instead, the focus should be on creating flexible strategies that are best positioned to accommodate shifting regulations and policy changes as well as changing investment and business outlooks. 

“Never wait until the last minute,” says Cheung. “Consider that if you’ve spent half your life building your wealth and business, you don’t want to rush and pass it on in just ten minutes.” 

Over the last year many families have felt a sense of immediacy to make succession and legacy plans. And there’s no better time than now. While people may be living longer, it’s important to make plans while the first generation still have the energy to share their perspective and pass on family values along with their wealth. 

It’s also crucial, where circumstances permit, to engage the next generations in the planning stage and listen to their views and approach. Cheung sees more families embracing transparency and open-minded mindsets by having the right conversations and getting the next generations to buy in and feel like they are part of the process.

It’s key to include the younger generation as the future is for them. Planning works better under collective deliberation.

The business of managing the family

As trusted partners for 75 years, we understand the traditions and expectations Asian families have. HSBC Trustee, as part of Global Private Banking, has served generations of international families, providing all aspects of wealth planning solutions, from tailor-made trust structuring and administration, to family office, family governance and philanthropy services. 

With the breadth and depth of our capabilities, we can support families who wish to safeguard and pass on their legacies. Our global footprint means we can connect our clients to the wider expertise around the globe to manage their global wealth needs. For more information, contact us or your Relationship Manager.

The information on this site refers to services or products which are not available in certain locations, or which, in any relevant location, may have components, methods, structures and terms different from the ones described, as well as restrictions on client eligibility. Please contact a Relationship Manager for details of services and products that may be available to you.

The use of the label ‘HSBC Private Banking’, ‘HSBC Private Bank’, ‘we’, or ‘us’ refers to HSBC’s worldwide private banking business, and is not indicative of any legal entity or relationship.

This information is entirely qualified by reference to the terms and conditions of the specific service, if any, provided by the relevant HSBC company.

Nothing here is to be deemed an offer, solicitation, endorsement, or recommendation to buy or sell any general or specific product, service or security and should not be considered to constitute investment advice.

Please note that HSBC Private Banking does not provide Legal and Tax Advice.

Before proceeding, please refer to the full Disclaimer and the Terms and Conditions.

This insight is only available when you're logged on.  

 

It is restricted to HSBC customers with the appropriate account details or transaction history.

Unfortunately, this content isn't available based on your account details. 

 

However there's still a wealth of information here for you.